Stories of Zane riding his Mountain Bike in New Zealand

Canada

I used to ride all the time here in NZ with Charlie. All the out the back of beyond fun type of missions! Charlie went to Canada a little while back, which made me kinda sad because I missed the motivation of his suggestions for missions, but every cloud has a silver lining. Now that Charlie lives in North Vancouver I have someone in Canada to show me all the trails that I would love to ride!

So. August 2013. 3 weeks off work. Me, my bike and a simple plan to ride my bike a lot!

I landed about 2pm and by 5pm was out and riding some North Shore trails with Charlie. Up Fromme and onto sweet trails such as 7th Secret, Leppard, Crinkum Crankum, Kirkford, Ceder Trail, Upper Griffen, Lower Griffen, Griffen Switchbacks etc. Great way to blow some jetlag type cobwebs and get a taste of the shore.

Image

Seventh Secret – Fromme

I jumped ship for Whistler the next morning leaving Charlie to be a wage slave. I spent 3 days checking out the valley trails, bumping into other kiwis and watching Crankworx. Half a day of lift accessed trails on a DH bike was enough park for me and I bailed back to Vancouver.

Image

A River Runs Through It – Whistler

Image

Double Teeter – A River Runs Through It – Whistler

Back staying with Charlie and Veronica there were more people arriving. First Barny and Fenella who were also on holiday from NZ. We did some more riding on Fromme exploring trails getting a bit lost and thoroughly enjoying ourselves before exploring supermarkets and bottles stores. There is lots of tasty craft beer in Canada and it is cheaper than craft beer here in NZ! Yes I know that there is a bunch of USA beer there… but it is available in Canada.

Image

Mmmm beeer!

After introducing Dugall to Fromme as well we headed for Mt Cypress to soak in a bit more North Shore riding. Fromme is very close to town and the trails, while difficult are well groomed. Many many trail fairy hours have gone into armoring with rock and wood and making the trails sustainable. Cypress is a different story. It is a bit harder to get to and so we were able to find trails there that were a lot more “raw”. They had loam and sketchy steep moves and rock slab rolls. Very seriously fun trails in there!

Image

Cypress Hill

Image

Cypress

Image

Myself on Ladies Only – Fromme

Back to Fromme for a day while Mark arrived. More fun riding on trails like Espresso and Ladies Only.

Image

Me on Ladies Only – Fromme

Image

Log ride on Seventh Secret

With Mark now on board we were off to Squamish. Nothing much of a town, but far out are there some trails to be found there! Had a very fun day doing all sorts of trails, ending with a couple of shuttles up to some gnarly downhill tracks. First run was ok, second I was starting to get a bit tired (8th day straight of riding) and blew a dusty corner on the lower part of the trail. Brushed myself off and kept going, but should have taken note. Blasting along through a fast section while following our local guide I popped off a rock and managed to clip my bar on a rock while in the air. I crashed pretty hard onto rocks and roots… jumped up thinking I had got off pretty lightly and then noticed my right ring finger was at a pretty strange angle. Crap! Now lets see. Does not hurt like it is broken, so I guess it must just be dislocated?? I grabbed it, pulled on the finger and it popped back into place. Hand was working again and did not feel too bad so I rode out the last 5 min of trail to the car. For some reason I have no photos of this…

Anyway I found ice while the guys did another run, where Jeremy our local man managed to badly tweak his ankle by hitting something wrong, hyper-extending his ankle and then being ejected off the bike.

Next day the finger was sore, but I could still mostly grip a handlebar… so it was more Squamish riding. We found all sorts of fun.

Image

50 Shades of Green in Squamish

Image

Myself on a rock

Image

Dugall, Mark and I – Squamish

From Squamish we bailed to Pemberton for 4 days. Even smaller town, but much nicer vibe than the town in Squamish. The mountains around Pemberton have many great trails. We hit up trails like Gravatrout, Cream Puff, Jack the Ripper and PhD. There were a bunch of others as well… but I cannot remember all the names!

Image

Charlie and Dugall on their matching Ti Slackers – Pemberton

Image

Mark near the top of Jack the Ripper – Pemberton

Image

Cream Puff – Pemberton

The big features of many of these trails is the big granite rock slabs that you end up rolling down. The trails tend to seek out these rock slabs and they are rather heart poundingly good fun! A track called PhD seemed to be made almost entirely out of these rock rolls.

Image

Mark doing a botty grinder on PhD – Pemberton

Image

Another granite roll – Pemberton

Image

Tower of Power – Pemberton

Image

Tower of Power – Pemberton

Anyway. That is enough photos for one post. After 4 days in Pemby we trucked off over the hills to the Chilcoatins. Home of the float plane bike trips. I will write this up in my next post.

Happy trails!

Zane

Leave a Reply

