Stories of Zane riding his Mountain Bike in New Zealand

DIY Tubeless Goo For Mountain Bike Tyres

Specialized Eskar 2-Bliss

Specialized Eskar 2-Bliss

I was out in the shed looking at putting new tyres on my Turner 5 Spot the other day, as I am getting sick of the number of sidewall rips I have been getting using the 2-Bliss Specialized Eskar and Specialized Purgatory tyres. For trail riding these tyres have a good amount of grip for a reasonably light and fast rolling tyre, but the sidewalls are pretty thin. The trails on the Port Hills of Christchurch tend to have many volcanic rocks sticking up out of the trail, and I must be ripping the sidewalls of my tyres on these as I go over/past the rocks. I picked up a pair of Intense 909 Ex Lites recently, and I am looking forward to trying them out on my bike. The tread pattern looks good and aggressive and the sidewalls are definitely thicker than the Specialized 2-Bliss tyres (2-Bliss = Specialized tyre designed to be run tubeless, but with sealant type goo).

intense909-tire-hi

Intense 909

I will be running the Intense 909’s tubeless with sealant goo, as I have found the tubeless system works very well for me. The occasional puncture I get is sealed up as I am riding along and so I can generally run a tyre for 6 to 9 months (i.e. until I wear it out) without ever having to do anything more than put a bit of air into it.

I have seen other people have problems running tubeless tyres and I have come to the conclusion that there are specific tyre – rim combinations that work well for tubeless, and others that do not. Basically if a tyre/rim combo mean that the tyre is super easy to take off by hand when the tyre is deflated, then I would suggest you are likely to have problems with burping tyres while out riding. Burping a front tyre is not a good thing!!

Front tyre burpage

Front tyre burpage

Because it often ends up looking something like this!!

OMG! WTF!

OMG! WTF!

Anyway, I think the benefits far outweigh the downsides, as long as you have a good tyre/rim combo! The DT Swiss 5.1d’s that I am running seem to be super tight with any tyre so that is a great start! Having added the DT swiss tubeless conversion rim strip to the rim has made fitting tyres even tighter. I can usually get most tyres on and off most rims without tyre levers, but for these rims I have had to resort to tyre levers every time!

Looking on the shelf in the shed I found that I was out of tyre sealant goo. Being resourceful (or is it just that I have deep pockets and short arms??) I decided I would make a batch of my own tyre sealant. This is something I have tried before and that I have seen various recipes for on the internet. In the shops you are looking at about $60 for a litre of the Stans or equivilent goo . The recipe I am making costs me more like $15 a Litre, and appears to work as well as the bought stuff in the tyres I have used it in.

As  there was a minimum order of 1 Litre of one of the ingredients I will have enough to make about 5 litres of goo! Should keep me going for a while!!

Recipe for tubeless tyre goo can be found by reading through this thread here. http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=406115

Basically using

1 part Liquid Latex

1 part Propylene Glycol

1 Part Slime (commercial car/truck tyre sealant)

2 Parts Water

I will post up what I think of the 909’s once I have done a bit of riding on them.

Happy trails!

Zane

12 responses

  1. I’m in the process of new wheels and tyres for the summer too. I love the Eskars- but like you have found that they are very fragile. They also squirm a fair bit with a lower PSI due to the thin side walls.

    I’m torn though as the Eskars role so nice and aside from the thin side walls and shed loads of pinch flats…. they are awesome. Shame they don’t do a 2.4″

    I’m still not sure what rims to get too- the 5/1’s look like the go- but to have t pay extra for rim strips is a bit much.

    819’s are the alternative- but not really as wide as the 5.1’s

    hmmmm

    September 25, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    • mountainbikingzane

      Yeh, the Eskars roll so nice precisely because they are light and have thin sidewalls!! Tis a never ending quest to find the perfect tyre!! Maxxis Advantage, Ardents and their trail version of the DHF minion look like good options to me as well

      Tell ya what though, go for a roll on a pair of 2.5 super tacky 2 ply Maxxis Minions and almost anything feels fast and light in comparision, but only has about half the traction of the minions!!

      As to rims, a specific tubeless rim is one heck of a lot less hassle if you want to run tubeless. I have the 5.1s on Hope Pro 2’s because I picked up the set for a great price. I had been thinking that i wanted 819’s when the deal came up. If I was choosing these days i would be looking seriously at the Stans Flow rims. A lot of people out there like them.

      September 25, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  2. I think Conti Rubber Queens are the way to go. Spencer is running these and they are mint.

    I’ll take a look at the Stans. Cheers

    September 25, 2009 at 2:03 pm

  3. mountainbikingzane

    They would need to be “mint” at that price!

    Prices from a local website
    Rubber queen 2.4 standard $120
    Rubber Queen 2.4 UST $165

    Maxxis Minion free ride single ply kevlar 60a $60
    Maxxis Ardent $60

    Intense 909 EX DC Lite $75

    September 25, 2009 at 2:22 pm

  4. CRC = $70 for 2,4 tubeless. I’m placing an order in a few weeks if you are keen……

    September 25, 2009 at 2:24 pm

  5. mountainbikingzane

    Ha, that just goes to show what a robbery whoever is importing the Continental tyres into NZ is making!!

    CRC the other tyres I mention are $10 to $15 cheaper ($55 to $60) and work out similar in price to buying them online here in NZ.

    I am happy to try out the 909’s for a while and see what I think of them. There is an online shop here in chch that has them for $40 at the moment… that is cheap rubber if they work well!!

    September 25, 2009 at 2:52 pm

  6. $40? Link? *wiggles eye brows*

    September 25, 2009 at 2:55 pm

  7. Will

    Maxxis also do 2.35 super tacky 2 ply Minion DHFs which are obviously slightly lighter than the 2.5s. I am using one on the front end only and the grip is staggering.

    The only problems I do see are the weight of the tyre and the difficulty of mounting or removing the tyre from the rim. These could be solved if Maxxis decided to make a single ply 2.35 super tacky with kevlar bead. Or maybe I should go back to the 60a version.

    I am now wondering what the effect is on my riding of having so much less grip on the back than the front!

    December 2, 2009 at 8:28 am

    • mountainbikingzane

      Yep, pretty sure they do a single ply DHF in 2.35… but you are back to the non-sticky compound. I rode over Oxford on Sunday with a 2.5 42a DHF on the front. The Eskar on the back was skating all over the show in comparison to the sticky rubber on the front!!

      December 2, 2009 at 8:33 am

  8. Pingback: A right pair of Queens « Mountain Biking Zane's Blog

  9. Brad

    Care to share your NZ sources for the ingredients? I saw that thread too, but couldn’t figure where to get the latex…
    cheers!

    December 27, 2009 at 6:13 am

Leave a Reply

