Stories of Zane riding his Mountain Bike in New Zealand

Shorter Cranks

polished cranks

I have done a bit of reading on use of correct crank length recently including this article here

CrankLength (1)

(yes – from a triathlon magazine!!) Which got me reading a bunch of other articles all over the internet.

Including http://www.customcranks.de/en/cranklength.html

After some measuring and thinking I have decided to try riding on some 170mm cranks on my mountain bike to see how it goes. I have been riding on 175mm cranks since I began mountain biking over 20 years ago and so it will be interesting to see whether I notice much of a difference or not. I am about 175 cm tall, but have long legs for my height.

I have been riding on Shimano XT (m760’s) for the last few years, but I picked up a set of Shimano Deore cranks in 170mm for cheap so I could try out the new length. If the shorter cranks feel good I will probably pick up a pair of the newer Shimano XT (m770’s) cranks in 170 mm.

I will report back with how I find the shorter cranks in due course. If the articles are correct it could do good things??

4 responses

  1. I’m keen to hear about your findings- being a hobit and all 😀

    September 22, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    • mountainbikingzane

      Are you still on 175mm cranks short fella?? I know where there is a good deal on some 170mm XT (the m970 version). I put the cranks on the bike last night and will test them out for the first time on the Wednesday night bike ride tomorrow night. Hmmm might see if people want to go up Worsleys as I am sure that would be somewhere I might notice a difference…

      September 22, 2009 at 8:10 pm

  2. Sure am- and yes i saw those on “that website” 😀 hehe. I just can’t justify it though- not when i’m looking to convert my wheelset to tooobless….

    Worsleys- wednesday? must be Spring time!

    September 22, 2009 at 8:21 pm

  3. Pingback: Update on the short cranks « Mountain Biking Zane's Blog

Leave a Reply

