Stories of Zane riding his Mountain Bike in New Zealand

Wide handlebars = Good!

 

Kore Torsion handlebars

Kore Torsion handlebars

I have been meaning to change my handlebars for the last few months.  I believe that handlebars have a limited life, and that 3 years of thrashing my current ones was long enough. The current bars are Ritchey WCS Carbon with about a 40mm rise and 660mm wide, which is narrower than what I would like.

 

 I finally got around to putting new handlebars on my 5 Spot last night. My new bars are a nice pair of Kore Torsion Race bars. 800mm wide (at the moment) with a 20mm rise. Had a play on them today and the difference is amazing!! So much more lateral balance and so much more control of the front wheel!!

I spent many years riding a hardtail with a short down hill stem and 710 wide Azonic bars, and really like the feel of these. When I got the 5 Spot I got the Ritchey bars without really trying them out, and had not realised that they were a bit narrower, and so put them on the bike and rode. Recently I have been riding a number of more challenging tracks more regularly, and I have been looking for a bit more control. Putting on a wider bar is definitely going to help that. It might not help me squeeze through the gaps between trees that my current handlebars only just fitted through, but it will give me more control everywhere else!

At 800mm wide it looks like overkill at the moment, and I think I will cut them down a little. I currently have the grips sitting at about 750mm wide at the moment, and that is feeling about right. I will try that for a couple of rides before they get the chop! Mmm new wide bars = good!!

 

[edit] About 2 weeks later I cut these bars down to 750 mm  wide. I like them at this width and I really like the shape (sweep and rise) of the Kore Torsion bars.

7 responses

  1. I have the very same bars on the Wolf- the Ritchey Carbons. I’m not to sure of their rise though. Like you, I’ve been considering their replacement.

    I reckon I’ll get the same bars in Alloy though as i love the feel of these….they are great for keeping the front end down.

    Good to see the bars are to your liking.

    June 27, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  2. mountainbikingzane

    Yep. I was loving the wide bars on the first decent ride today. So much more lateral balance from having a wider bar. I was much more confident down the gnarly stuff. I would suggest finding something wider than the Ritcheys for the Wolf.

    June 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  3. They seem wide enough for me- maybe they are wider than your set? Dunno. In fact I often think that they are to wide 😀

    June 28, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  4. mountainbikingzane

    Until you try wide bars on a technical trail you will not know what you are missing. Try a pair of 710mm for one trip on technical trails (or even down something like Greenwood park) and you should be sold. Borrow a set to try it out. I have a spare pair of 710mm sitting here if you would like to try them. I would think that you will have bars that are 660mm if they are the Ritchey WCS.

    They might feel strange for a start if you are used to narrow bars, but the extra control is very much worth it!!

    June 28, 2009 at 6:09 pm

  5. russ

    After seeing your setup on the weekend I picked up a set of Truvativ Boobar’s today. 780mm with a 20mm rise. I don’t think they will be staying that wide, but I wanted the option to cut them down slowly. We’ll see how they go.

    October 15, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    • mountainbikingzane

      Nice work. Nice low rise and wide as!! Yeh you will probably want to make them a bit smaller for trail riding. I find 750 a bit of a squeeze on some of the rides I do.

      October 15, 2009 at 7:49 pm

  6. Pingback: Handlebar width – how wide? « Mountain Biking Zanes' Blog

Leave a Reply

